Ramadan Day 5 – Single

Don’t talk to me about being single. You’re in a relationship.

Do you think I’ll ever meet someone?

I’m sorry, I can’t go to the wedding. I’m depressed.

I hate weddings.

Now that you have a relationship, do you no longer feel the pressure of going out all the time?

I really like my life now. I see him every once–in-a-while. We have sex, no strings attached. I’m just accepting how happy I am, not conforming.

He’s amazing.  We have to keep it a secret.

She’s poly and is dating some dudes. No, she doesn’t want to be in a relationship. We have a special connection.

I have a thing for straight girls.

There are no such thing as straight girls.

Until you have a relationship with somebody healthy, it means you haven’t really changed.

I don’t date. I don’t like what it does to my self-esteem. I have high self-esteem.

Come to the party with me. I can’t go alone.

No, I don’t do couple-dating.

Could we spend some one-on-one time? Your boyfriend comes to everything. I haven’t seen you in forever.

So now you have a relationship, you can’t spend time with me?

I’m not like you. I’m not in love. That doesn’t mean I want to be alone.

Everybody is married. Everybody is straight. All the cute ones are in relationships.

I can’t quit.

He lives too far.

You’re lucky you’re queer, and you like women.  It’s easier.

We can talk through your issues, but I really can’t introduce you to someone.

I’m fat.

I just don’t feel attracted to them, ok?

He’s too short. She’s too tall. She’s got a funny voice. She really likes to party.

Asian women are the hottest. I only date Black men. She’s so hot, she’s Hispanic.

I don’t only date white guys.

They’re part native.

I don’t date women who are bigger than me. She’s half my age.

He’s a lot older than me. Maybe a bit more than that.

She used to have a drug problem.

You’re better off single.

I met her on OkCupid.

I met him on Tinder.

I have to support myself. I’m older. Nobody’s going to help me retire or when I get sick.

We had a little too much to drink and went to my place. I’d really like to call. Do you think it’s too soon?

I don’t want to drive myself crazy. I’ve made peace with it. I may not be happy, but at least I’m not desperate.

I’m moving soon so what’s the point?

I want kids. I can’t afford to have one or take care of one myself.

I’m getting pregnant anyway.

Shut up.

You should be more open.

Do you believe in the one?

I’m sad.

Not tonight.

I’m lonely.

***

FullSizeRender-3

Accumulation No. 1 – Yayoi Kusama

***

Don’t surrender your loneliness

So quickly.

Let it cut more deep.

Let it ferment and season you

As few human

Or even divine ingredients can.

Something missing in my heart tonight

Has made my eyes so soft,

My voice

So tender,

My need of God

Absolutely Clear.

– Hafiz, trans. by Daniel Ladinsky

Leave a Reply

