inadvisable

got a friend who surfs

he doesn’t let problems be problems

until they overtake him

got a friend who does dv counseling

she copes through kindness

patient listening, weekend nature trips

got a friend who’s a performance artist

she rustles up some mean cooking

it’s creativity-space she loves to give

got a friend who’s an activist

at protests, she loses herself

in meetings, she holds communion

i am my own best Friend

friends just keep my head up on my shoulders

now and then i went

got myself all untethered

just a few feet from lonely

call my friends call my family

feels like a million hands have got me

Leave a Reply

