wish list

I would like to be loved by somebody who reads my poetry every night

while i am reading theirs

who allows me to be stricken with grief, panicked, unable to sit still

because they know that i am learning how to sit still

who allows me to cheer them up

and understands that sometimes i cannot cheer them up

and sometimes i cannot be cheered up

who i don’t have to fear will leave me for the wrong reasons

but who will take care of themselves for the right reasons

somebody who sees me even when i am blind

somebody who explains to me patiently why i’ve done wrong

somebody who speaks softly to me when i’m crying.

i love myself best when i am somebody else.

Leave a Reply

